PGLU Employees Coop Conducts its Annual General Assembly

By: Jane T. Flores - Date: April 13, 2018

Photo by: PITO-LU

La Union Provincial Government Employees’ Multi-Purpose Cooperative manager Ms. Imelda Norton presents the Statement of Operation of the said cooperative for 2017 during their general assembly on Friday, April 14, 2017 at the Diego Silang Hall, Provincial Capitol, City of San Fernando, La Union.

The La Union Provincial Government Employees’ Multi-Purpose Cooperative (LUPGEMPC) conducted its general assembly on April 14, 2018 at the Diego Silang Hall of the Provincial Capitol, City of San Fernando, La Union. It was attended by more than 200 members, who managed to squeeze in a little time away from work to attend this obligation.

Mr. Francis Remeguis Estigoy, the Chairperson of the LUPGEMPC with the concurrence of the Members of the Board of Directors reported that the coop is in good standing following the financial report of its Manager, Ms. Imelda Norton, that for year 2017, the coop has a net surplus of P723,922.39. Said net surplus is only slightly higher than the previous year’s report but to have maintained it despite loss of other sources of income such as the rent from the PGLU Canteen is still a good sign that management fared well.

Another highlight of the activity is the recognition of TOP TEN INVESTORS, that include: Ms. Shirley Sabado, Ms. Evelyn Obra, Dr. Nida Gapuz, Ms. Carmencita Atijera, Ms. Evelyn Viernes, Mr. Gil Munar, Ms. Winnie Camarao, Ms. Grace Libong and Ms. Jane T. Flores.

Currently there are only 553 members of the LUPGEMPC compared to almost a thousand employees, however, a membership campaign to all offices of the PGLU will be intensified this year so that the coop could further spread the services to more members. Its services include loans, financing (members could get grocery certificates for Mart1 and CSI) and catering services.

The LUPGEMPC started in 1994 and went full operation in 1997 with only 64 members and an initial capital of P38,000.00. It has been a millionaire cooperative since 2010 and a registered member of the Cooperative Development Authority.