# Republic of the Philippines PROVINCE OF LA UNION

### TANGGAPAN NG SANGGUNIANG PANLALAWIGAN

EXCERPT FROM THE JOURNAL OF THE 13th REGULAR SESSION OF THE 20th SANGGUNIANG PANLALAWIGAN OF LA UNION HELD AT THE CITY OF SAN FERNANDO, PROVINCE OF LA UNION ON SEPTEMBER 26, 2013

Hon. Aureo Augusto Q. Nisce.	Vice-Governor / Presiding Officer
PRESENT:	
Hon. Francisco "Kit" C. Ortega, Jr.	
Hon. Jonathan Justo A. Orros	Member
Hon. Joaquin C. Ostrea, Jr.	Member
Hon. Reynaldo M. Mosuela	Member
Hon. Victoria L. Aragon	Member
Hon. Nancy Corazon M. Bacurnay	Member
Hon. Robert B. Madarang, Jr.	Member
Hon. Christian I. Rivera	Member
Hon. Ruperto A. Rillera, Jr.	Member
Hon. Bellarmin A. Flores II	
Hon. Alfredo Pablo R. Ortega	Member
Hon. Manuel "Mannix" R. Ortega, Jr	Member
Hon. Kenneth Paolo C. Tereng	Member
ABSENT:	

NONE

### **ORDINANCE NO. 044-2013**

#### CREATING THE LA UNION MOST OUTSTANDING LUPONG TAGAPAMAYAPA AWARD

Authors: Hon. Reynaldo M. Mosuela Co-authors: Hon. Francisco "Kit" C. Ortega, Jr. Hon. Jonathan Justo A. Orros

Hon. Joaquin C. Ostrea, Jr. Hon. Victoria L. Aragon

Hon. Victoria L. Aragon
Hon. Nancy Corazon M. Bacurnay
Hon. Robert B. Madarang, Jr.
Hon. Christian I. Rivera
Hon. Ruperto A. Rillera, Jr.
Hon. Bellarmin A. Flores II
Hon. Alfredo Pablo R. Ortega
Hon. Manuel "Mannix" R. Ortega, Jr.

Hon. Kenneth Paolo C. Tereng

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

The purpose for the creation of the Lupong Tagamayapa in every barangay is to settle amicably disputes within its jurisdiction and thereby help declog the dockets of the courts of justice. However, in spite of the existence and operation of the Lupon for several years now, there are many cases which could have been settled before it but are pending in the courts of justice. In order to encourage the Lupon in every barangay to exert diligent efforts in settling disputes, incentives be extended to all the Lupon in the province like the proposed award thus, this legislative measure.

Be it enacted by the Sangguniang Panlalawigan in session duly assembled:

 $\mathcal{C}^{m}$ 

# SECTION 1. TITLE. This ordinance shall be known and cited as THE LA UNION MOST OUTSTANDING LUPONG TAGAPAMAYAPA AWARD ACT OF 2013.

**SECTION 2. DECLARATION OF POLICY**. It is hereby the declared policy of the Provincial Government of La Union (PGLU) to extend recognition to Lupong Tagapamayapa which excels in resolving cases/disputes amicably, judiciously and expeditiously in the barangay giving pride and honor to the province.

**SECTION 3. DEFINITION OF TERM**. The Lupong Tagapamayapa hereinafter referred to as Lupon is the body created under Section 399 of the Local Government Code of 1991 composed of the Punong Barangay as Chairman and ten (10) to twenty (20) members.

**SECTION 4. CRITERIA**. The criteria for the award shall be determined by the Selection Committee based on the pertinent and applicable provisions under Chapter 7, Book III, entitled "Katarungang Pambarangay" of the Local Government Code of 1991 in relation to its Implementing Rules and Regulations and the Declaration of Policy under Section 2 hereof.

**SECTION 5. SELECTION COMMITTEE AND ITS ROLES.** (a) The Selection Committee shall be composed of the following:

a) Provincial Governor
 b) Provincial Vice-Governor
 c) SP Chairman, Committee on
 c) Member

Laws, Rules & Privileges

d) SP Chairman, Committee on Finance - Member

Budget & Appropriations

e) SP Chairman, Committee on Barangay Affairs - Member f) SP Chairman, Committee on Peace & - Member

Order & Public Safety

g) SP Chairman, Committee on Justice & - Member Human Rights

- (b) Aside from the determination of the criteria for the award pursuant to Section 4 hereof, the Selection Committee shall choose from among the nominees only one awardee annually.
- (c) Nominations may be submitted by any interested person or organization to the Selection Committee through the Secretariat which is the Office of the Provincial Planning and Development Coordinator, Provincial Capitol, City of San Fernando, La Union, on or before the end of the month of January each year.

**SECTION 6. SECRETARIAT**. The Office of the Provincial Planning and Development Coordinator shall serve as the Secretariat for the Selection Committee.

**SECTION 7. THE AWARD AND ITS PRESENTATION**. A PLAQUE and cash incentive in an amount to be determined by the Selection Committee shall be awarded to the most outstanding Lupong Tagapamayapa on the occasion of the celebration of the Foundation Anniversary of the province starting on March 2, 2014 and every year thereafter.

**SECTION 8. APPROPRIATIONS**. The initial amount of P50,000.00 from available and unappropriated funds is hereby allocated from which the cash incentive for the awardee as determined by the selection Committee may be drawn.

**SECTION 9. IMPLEMENTING RULES AND REGULATIONS**. The implementing body is hereby authorized to promulgate implementing rules and regulations of this ordinance to carry out into effect the policy and goal as laid out by the Sangguniang Panlalawigan in this legislative measure.

**SECTION 10. SEPARABILITY CLAUSE**. If any provision of this ordinance is declared unconstitutional, the remaining provisions not affected shall remain in full force and effect.

SECTION 11. EFFECTIVITY. This Ordinance shall take effect pursuant to the pertinent and applicable provisions of the Local Government Code of 1991.

APPROVED.

I HEREBY CERTIFY to the correctness of the foregoing ordinance.

CARIDAD J. VILUAN
Secretary to the Sanggunian

ATTESTED:

AUREO AUGUSTO Q. NISCE

Presiding Officer 4

FRANCISCO "KIT" C. ORTEGA, JR. Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

JONATHAN JUSTO A. ORROS Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

JOAQUIN C. OSTREA, JR. Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

REYNALDO M. MOSUELA Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

VICTORIA L. ARAGON
Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

ALFREDO PABLO R. ORTEGA Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member NANCY CORĂZON M. BACURNAY Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

ROBERT B. MADARANG, JR. Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

CHRISTIAN I. RIVERA
Sangguniang Panlalawigap Member

RUPERTO A RILLERA, JR. Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

BELLARMIN A. FLORES II Sangganiang Panlalawigan Member

MANUEL "MANNIX" R ORTEGA, JR. Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

Kuneth Facto Trung KENNETH PAOLO C. TERENG Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

APPROVED:

MANUEL C. ORTEGA Governor / / /