Republic of the Philippines PROVINCE OF LA UNION

TANGGAPAN NG SANGGUNIANG PANLALAWIGAN

EXCERPT FROM THE JOURNAL OF THE 51st REGULAR SESSION OF THE 20th SANGGUNIANG PANLALAWIGAN OF LA UNION HELD AT THE SPEAKER PRO-TEMPORE FRANCISCO I. ORTEGA PROVINCIAL LEGISLATIVE BUILDING AND SESSION HALL, PROVINCIAL CAPITOL, CITY OF SAN FERNANDO, PROVINCE OF LA UNION ON JUNE 19, 2014

Hon. Aureo Augusto Q. Nisce	Vice-Governor / Presiding Officer
PRESENT:	
Hon. Francisco "Kit" C. Ortega, Jr.	Member
Hon. Jonathan Justo A. Orros	
Hon. Joaquin C. Ostrea, Jr.	Member
Hon. Reynaldo M. Mosuela	
Hon. Nancy Corazon M. Bacurnay	
Hon. Robert B. Madarang, Jr.	Member
Hon. Christian I. Rivera	
Hon. Ruperto A. Rillera, Jr.	Member
Hon. Bellarmin A. Flores II	
Hon. Alfredo Pablo R. Ortega	Member
ABSENT:	
Hon. Victoria L. Aragon	
Hon. Manuel "Mannix" R. Ortega, Jr	Member (OB)

ORDINANCE NO. 055-2014

AN ACT ENJOINING ALL COMPONENT LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (LGUs) OF LA UNION TO PLANT THE OFFICIAL PROVINCIAL FLOWER AND THEIR RESPECTIVE OFFICIAL FLOWER ALONG HIGHWAYS, THOROUGHFARES, ROADS AND STREETS WITHIN THEIR RESPECTIVE TERRITORIAL JURISDICTION

Author: Hon. Reynaldo M. Mosuela

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This august body had enacted an ordinance naming the bougainvilla as the official flower of La Union. Then it passed Resolution No. 087-2013 enjoining all component city and municipal local government units (LGUs) to name their respective official flower and tree.

Pursuant to the foregoing legislative measures and as we position our beloved province as, among others, a haven for tourists, it is high time we continue beautifying it by planting along highways, thoroughfares, roads and streets the component LGUs' official flowers and that of the Province. Thus, this ordinance.

Be it enacted by the Sangguniang Panlalawigan in session duly assembled:

SECTION 1. TITLE. This Ordinance shall be known and cited as "The Official Flowers Act of 2014".

SECTION 2. DECLARATION OF POLICY. It is hereby the declared policy of the Provincial Government of La Union to promote the official provincial flower and the respective official flower of the component city and municipal local government units by planting them along the highways, thoroughfares, roads and streets throughout the province.

SECTION 3. DEFINITION OF TERMS. The following are defined as follows:

m // 8

in H

12 E

- a) Component Local Government Units refers to the component City of San Fernando and the nineteen (19) component municipalities as well as their respective component barangays.
- b) Official Flowers refer to the official provincial flower and the respective official flower of the component LGUs.
- **SECTION 4. IMPLEMENTATION.** Each component LGU shall plant its official flower and the official provincial flower along highways, thoroughfares, roads and streets within its territorial jurisdiction.
- **SECTION 5. MONITORING.** The Office of the Provincial Agriculturist (OPAg) and the Provincial Information and Tourism Office (PITO), in coordination with their counterparts in the component LGUs, shall monitor the proper implementation of this ordinance.
- **SECTION 6. SEPARABILITY CLAUSE.** If, for any reason or reasons, any part or provision of this ordinance shall be held to be unconstitutional or invalid, other parts or provisions hereof which are not affected thereby shall continue to be in full force and effect.
- **SECTION 7. REPEALING CLAUSE.** All ordinances, resolutions, orders, circulars, memoranda and other issuances inconsistent with this ordinance are hereby repealed, amended or modified accordingly.

SECTION 8. EFFECTIVITY CLAUSE. This ordinance shall take effect pursuant to Section 59 of the Local Government Code of 1991.

APPROVED.

I HEREBY CERTIFY to the correctness of the foregoing ordinance.

DONATO A. RIMANDO Secretary to the Sanggunian

ATTESTED:

AURÉO AUGUSTO Q. NISCE

Presiding Officer
Vice-Governor

FRANCISCO "KIT" C. ORTEGA, JR. Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

JONATHAN JUSTO A. ORROS Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

JOAQUINIC/ OSTREA, JR.
Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

NANCY CORAZON M. BACURNAY Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

ROBERT B. MADARANG, JR. Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

CHRISTIAN I. RIVERA
Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

4

Ordinance No. 055-2014, Page 3

Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

ALFREDO PABLO R. ORTEGA

Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

RUPERTO A RILLERA, JR. Sangguniang Panjalawigan Member

BELLARMIN A. FLORES II Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member

APPROVED:

MANUEL C. ORTEGA

Governor /

2000 H