PGLU Launches the 1st Agri-Tourism Festival

By: Marcel A. Florentino  |  By: PITO-LU  |  Date: February 23, 2018

AGRI-TOURISM. La Union leaders headed by Gov. Francisco Emmanuel “Pacoy” R. Ortega III and Vice Governor Aureo Augusto Q. Nisce together with DPWH Secretary Mark Villar lead the Opening of the first ever Agri-Tourism Festival in the province this morning, February 19, 2018 in front of the City Hall of San Fernando, La Union. Said event is part of the activities of the 168th Foundation Anniversary of La Union.

Promoting its vision for the province, the Provincial Government of La Union (PGLU) led by Gov. Francisco Emmanuel “Pacoy” R. Ortega III launched the first Agri-Tourism Festival on February 19, 2018 in front of the City Hall, City of San Fernando, La Union.

In his message, Gov. Pacoy first extended his gratitude to City of San Fernando Mayor Hermenegildo A. Gualberto for hosting the festival. The Governor centered Agri-Tourism as the centerpiece of the 168th Foundation Anniversary of La Union. He said that Agri-Tourism will drive the province to greater heights of progress and development and at the same time improve the quality of life of its citizens. Gov. Pacoy concluded his message by introducing the Guest of Honor and speaker, Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) Secretary Mark A. Villar.

The DPWH Secretary reported on the possible projects for the further improvement of La Union. For traffic, he shared plans of building a four lane bypass road that spans from Bauang to San Juan. Secretary Villar also revealed that he is focusing on sewage and flood prevention projects in various barangays of La Union.

Kicking off the festival, the Office of the Provincial Agriculturist (OPAG) and the Office of the Provincial Veterinarian (OPVET) also conducted the Pinakalympics, a search for the largest and healthiest crops and farm animals throughout the province. The winning participants in the fruits category are: Mango, Florencia Mendoza from San Fernando; Papaya, Saturnino Flora from Naguilian; Chico, Nenita Jubilo from San Fernando; Jackfruit, Aladino Junto Jr. from Balaoan; Banana Saba, Francisco Rulloda from Tubao; Banana Latundan, Nelson Mabitazan from Rosario; Banana Lakatan, Dito Balisbis from Bagulin; Suha, Nenita Sindayen from Rosario; and Star Apple, Rolando Ribucca from Tubao.

For the vegetables category: Ampalaya, Danny Mendoza from Rosario; Eggplant, Emmanuel Enriquez from Sto. Tomas; Upo, Joey Ramos from Rosario; Squash, Annamarie Apigo from San Fernando; Yellow Corn, Edwin Saladino from Bangar; and Pole Sitaw, Genaro Sapitula from Sto. Tomas. And for the rootcrops: Ube, Gaudencio Quezada from Burgos; Sweet Potato, Florante Estipular from Naguilian; Ginger, Florante Ocampo from San Gabriel; and Cassava, Freny Monis from Sudipen. While the winning owners for the fisheries category are: Tilapia, Cesar Ocampo from Bacnotan; Catfish, Danilo Aragon from Luna; and Milkfish, Jinxiong Li from Rosario.

The winning owners for the various livestock categories are: Pinaka-Buck, 1st place, Arnold Eniego from San Fernando; 2nd place, Hilario Sanidad from Bauang; 3rd place, Romulo Salazar from Bacnotan. Pinaka-Doe, Hilario Sanidad from Bauang. Pinaka-Rooster, 1st place, Rodolito Estrada from Sto. Tomas; 2nd place, Patrick Rimando from Bauang; 3rd place, Tirso Banay from Naguilian. Pinaka-Hen, 1st place, Patrick Rimando from Bauang; 2nd place, Rodolito Estrada from Sto. Tomas; 3rd place, Eduardo Nabarte from Balaoan.

Aside from selecting the Best Agri-Tourism Booths of the Local Government Units (LGUs) of the Province, the Best Agri-Tourism Booth and Festival Presentation will also be chosen. Circuit Presentations will be presented to the public from February 21-25, 2018 starting at 5pm.

The Agri-Tourism Festival is until March 4, 2018. For the 168th Anniversary schedule of activities, the details may be found at the official Facebook page of the PGLU at