Read/Post Comment: 0 Posted by Administrator /  20.12.2017
By: Hana Josua C. Martinez, PITO-LU

To further strengthen the joint campaign in sustaining effective preservation of coastal and marine life of the Provincial Government of La Union and the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), Gov. Francisco Emmanuel “Pacoy” R. Ortega III, Balaoan Mayor Aleli U. Concepcion, Bacnotan Mayor Francisco Angelito L. Fontanilla, Municipal Fishery Coordinator Margarita C. Santiago representing San Juan Mayor Arturo P. Valdriz and Deparment of Environmental and Natural Resources (DENR) Region 1 Director Paquito T. Moreno, Jr. signed a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) pursuant to the establishment of Marine Protected Area Network (MPA)on December 11, 2017 at the Provincial Capitol, City of San Fernando, La Union.

The said MOA is in line with the program of DENR on Coastal and Marine Ecosystems Management (CMEM) which aims to provide protection and restoration of degraded coastal and marine habitats essential in maintaining ecological balance and survival of endangered species through the establishment of MPA networks of 3 LGUs within the province of La Union which will be known as “Bacnotan-Balaoan-San Juan MPA Network.”
Share This:   Facebook MySpace Digg Delicious Reddit Twitter StumbleUpon

printer friendly create pdf of this news item